Chickpea Cookies

I started this blog with big dreams of fascinating posts with exquisite photography. I eagerly prepared the following recipe earlier this week specifically to blog about, and then, in the process… I realized my camera sucks. So, you’ll just have to bear with me through my boring, picture-less or poor quality photo, posts.

Anyhow, on to business. Last year, I saw this chickpea cookie dough dip on pinterest.

It claimed to taste just like the real thing. Sounds too good to be true, right?

Well, it was.

So when my friend posted this picture on facebook of some chickpea cookies it was easy to ignore… at first.

Then the comments started rolling in, along with her raves of how amazing they are.

So I started to break down a little and get curious.

Then, I was strolling through Walmart when I happened upon these…

And I knew it was my sign. Game over, I caved.

I kept the can on my countertop for the next couple of days- its stare permeating through me every time I passed through the kitchen, just waiting for me to finally take the plunge.

Finally, I broke down and made the dang cookies. As I finished pureeing, I cautiously dipped my finger into the batter…

and…

SUCCESS!

While still not as tasty as the real thing, these definitely get a thumbs up in the deceptively healthy category. I keep them in my fridge for a quick, grab-and-go snack. I’m dying to try making these again with 1/2 tsp. mint extract in them for a mint chocolate chip cookie!

 

Chocolate Chip (Chickpea) Protein Cookies

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans)- drained and thoroughly rinsed

2-3 Tbsp almond milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

dash of cinnamon (just for depth of flavor, you don’t actually taste it!)

2 individual packages Stevia sweetener (more or less according to your tastes)

1/3 C. + 1 Tbsp. protein powder (I used chocolate flavor, but get crazy and experiment!)

1/3 C. chocolate (or carob) chips

Pre-heat oven to 350°F.  Puree the chickpeas in a food processor until very smooth.  Add the almond milk, vanilla, cinnamon, stevia, and protein powder- pulse until a ball of dough is formed; adding more almond milk if necessary (you want the consistency a bit softer than real cookie dough).  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Scoop golf ball-size portions onto a parchment paper-lined baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes.

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Chickpea Cookies

  1. I enjoyed your post! I’m going to try the cookies. I’m always looking for a healthy alternative to high calorie/high fat treats. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

