Quick Bites

I often hear from people that the reason they don’t eat healthy is because they don’t have time.

As someone who works 2 jobs and takes the maximum allowed number of credit hours, I beg to differ.  What these people don’t have, is a plan.

By planning and preparing your meals ahead of time, you can enjoy delicious, healthy foods for much less than any drive-thru grub.

One of my favorite “tricks” to always having roasted chicken around is stocking up on chicken breasts when they are on sale, then preparing them and freezing the chicken so it is ready for me whenever I need it.  This makes last-minute lunch bag packing a breeze, and preparing meals is a breeze because I can just toss in my pre-cooked chicken, saving me time and clean-up efforts.

The way I prepare my chicken couldn’t be easier, I just take whatever chicken I have, fresh or frozen, it doesn’t matter.  I throw it in my crock pot with about 1/4 C. water and turn it on and walk away.  If I’ll be gone all day for class or if I’m cooking them overnight I put the crockpot on low, otherwise I’ll cook them on high.

When they’re done, I let them cool for a bit then either shred or slice the meat, pack it up the way I want, and freeze it.  What could be easier than that?!

Give it a shot and let me know what you think.  This trick has saved me tons of time and money from buying those bags of pre-cooked chicken breast with all the artificial ingredients.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

